Decadent Chocolate Mousse… Just Like the Real Thing, but Healthier!

Who knew tofu was so versatile??  I’ve only known tofu used in savory dishes… soups, stews, baked, grilled, fried, stir-fried, and sauteed.  But I’ve never heard of its use in desserts.  Until recently, that is.  As I peruse through different recipes, mainly vegan and low-calorie recipes, I am amazed how it is the perfect substitute for all things dairy and such.  I’m all for substituting anything that calls for some sort of cream, shortening, butter, and eggs as I work on getting my health back in order.  Of course, the real thing is ALWAYS better, but these dessert recipes calling for silken tofu is a pretty darn good alternative.

I was a little skeptical at first when I came across this recipe.  I mean, how can chocolate mousse taste good with silken tofu?  Well, I certainly ate my words today.  I was afraid I was going to be able to taste the tofu, like I did when I made vegan cheesecake.  But I didn’t.  In fact, if someone had me try this without telling me it was made with tofu, I would have thought it was the real thing.  The chocolate and port really do a great job at masking the flavors of the tofu.

Decadent Chocolate Mousse (adapted from Veggiewala)

1 package (12.3 ounce) of silken tofu, drained
2.5 bars (1.65 ounces each) high quality dark chocolate (72% cacao)
¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
¼ cup water
1 tablespoon almond milk
2 tablespoons port
½ cup sugar
1 banana, sliced (optional)

Puree the silken tofu in a food processor until extremely smooth.  It should be the consistency of yogurt.

In double boiler or a bowl set over simmering water, add in the chocolate bar, the cocoa powder, almond milk, water, and port. Stir together until just melted and smooth. Remove from heat and slowly add in the sugar, stirring until smooth. (The mixture will not look creamy and smooth until the sugar is added).

Fold the tofu into the chocolate mixture, and mix together until completely blended.  Pour into a serving bowl or individual ramekins and refrigerate at least one hour.  The chocolate-tofu mixture will thicken up once refrigerated.  Serve with sliced bananas.

Makes 4 servings.

Calories per serving: 340.

11 responses

  1. Um, that looks amazing. I once tried a chocolate cake with tofu in it and thought it was great. And why not? It’s creamy and so subtle in flavor that it’ll do just about whatever you want it to. This particular recipe sounds fantastic, and easy! I might need to try it!

  2. I made the assumption that by 2.5 bars (1.65 oz) you meant about 4 oz in total (as per original recipe).

    I have put the mousses in the fridge and thoroughly licked the bowl, I can fully endorse this recipe so far!

  3. this is amazing! i’ve been looking for a healthy way to make dessert for my dad since he is diabetic and this is awesome! i just replaced sugar with splenda, added more almond milk, and didn’t add port (in case anyone else is diabetic and wants to do it) i even licked the spoon! it definitely does not taste like tofu. thank you thank you!

    • actually, thank you for the diabetic-friendly idea!… my dad, too, is a diabetic (with a mad sweets craving) and we are always trying to make recipes not only healthier, but diabetic friendly also. i’m so happy that you enjoyed the recipe!

  4. Pingback: | Gourmantine's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,481 other followers

