Creamy Cumin-Lime Vinaigrette

I think I over did it with my caesar salads for lunch.  I ate that particular salad for about two weeks straight.  When I like something, I obsess over it until I get sick of it.  I definitely reached that point with the caesar salads.  I think my partner reached that point even earlier than I did, but she was definitely a champ!  She didn’t complain about the salads, but I could tell that she was losing her pizazz with the daily caesar salad lunches I was packing her for work.

So here I am now, continuing on the path to expand my salad vinaigrette repertoire.  I wanted to create something with a southwestern flare.  My partner has been requesting a southwestern salad for some time now.  She’s my guinea pig for the recipes I create, and really value her constructive criticism.  So I brought her a salad at work ad it was a big hit with her.  Yay!  It went really well with a black bean, corn, tomato, avocado salad with baked tortilla chips.  All it was missing was some blackened chicken, four-blend Mexican cheese and olives to make it the perfect taco salad.

Creamy Cumin-Lime Vinaigrette

2 cloves garlic, mashed into a paste
2 tablespoons plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
4 tablespoons fresh squeezed lime juice
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons honey (if you prefer a more tart dressing, add less honey)
Salt, to taste

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk all the ingredients together until the dressing has combined and emulsified.

Pour dressing over your favorite southwestern or taco salad.

Makes dressing enough for 4 salads.

Calories per serving: 170

8 responses

    • I’ve never thought to use avocado as a vegan dressing, but it completely makes sense to cream up the dressing. I can’t wait to try this out with my next vinaigrette!

    • Yes, it adds a a creaminess without all the extra calories, and plus it has a wonderful flavor! I can’t wait to try out your Greek apricot yogurt and tahini dressing… it sounds delish!

  1. Im the same, obesess until I make myself sick of it. I eat salad EVERYDAY for lunch. And I somehow never get sick of it, as long as I change up the variety and salad dressings. So I can’t wait to try this!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,489 other followers

