There’s No High Fructose Corn Syrup Here!… Apricot-Mango-Strawberry Fruit Roll-Ups.

I just watched Food, Inc. yesterday, and it’s making me look at food in a whole different way.  I think my jaw was on the ground from start to end of the documentary.  I was shocked and disgusted.  I’ve never really given much thought about how food is grown, how it’s processed, and where it comes from.  I just went to the grocery store and bought what I needed with my savings card to get the best bang for my buck.  Now I’m not feeling so guilty about the $100 I spent for some groceries the other day at one of the more eco-friendly, green markets.  The movie just reinforced the need to buy from local farmers, organic products, and from eco-friendly markets.  It’s also left me feeling the need to eat more veggies, and less meat.  Ugh.

Have you seen Food, Inc. yet?  If you have, did it change the way you buy food?

Apricot-Mango-Strawberry Fruit Roll-Ups

4 apricots, diced
1 1/2 cups strawberries, diced
1 large mango, diced
2 tablespoons water
Agave Nectar

Preheat oven to 150 degrees F one hour before dehydrating the fruit roll-ups.

[Just as a side note, my oven did not have a setting for 150 degrees F. Instead, it has a "warm" setting, which I used, and worked out great. Also, as an FYI, you will be using this "dehydrating" setting for about 6 to 8 hours. It may be tempting to use a higher temperature to quicken the process, but you'll just bake the fruit roll-ups rather than dehydrate them. So patience is key with this recipe.]

In a sauce pan over medium heat, add water and diced fruit. Cook until the fruit breaks down so that it is soft and mushy. Allow the fruit mixture to thicken (the syrup should coat the back of the spoon and shouldn’t be runny or thin), almost like the consistency of a chunky applesauce. Adjust sweetness with agave nectar to your liking… I used about 1.5 tablespoons of agave nectar because the fruit was already really sweet.

Carefully pour the fruit “compote” into a food processor or blender, and puree the liquid until it is smooth in consistency.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and lightly grease with non-flavored oil, such as corn or vegetable oil. Pour fruit mixture onto baking sheet and spread evenly across the baking sheet, about 1/4-inch thick.

Place baking sheet into oven and dehydrate for about 6 to 8 hours. The amount of dehydrating time varies depending on the thickness and the amount of sugar in the fruit mixture, so check every two hours until done. You don’t want crispy fruit roll-ups. When the fruit is dry and no longer sticky to touch, remove baking sheet from oven, and allow to cool at room temperature. If you find that the edges are a little crispy, just rehydrate by dabbing the edges with a wet paper towel.

When cool to handle, carefully peel the sheet of dehydrated fruit and lay it on a cutting board, and cut with a knife or pizza slicer into 2″ by 6″ strips, or whatever size you want. Cut wax paper or parchment paper just a little larger than the strips, and roll the strips of fruit into fruit roll-ups. Store in the pantry in an airtight container for up to two weeks.

29 responses

    • Thanks for the documentary recommendation, DKR! Isn’t Monsanto the huge corporation that has patented the genetically-modified soybeans that basically owns 90% of the soybean crops in the US? Crazy. I can’t wait to see this.

      I remember you talking about the sustainable seafoods when I saw you a few weeks ago. I think we need to educate ourselves about this, too. Especially with the amount of seafood we eat!

  1. Watching that documentary changed my life forever. I think everyone should watch it :) Great recipe post (sans a lot of sugar)!

    • I completely agree with you in that I think everyone should watch it just to understand the hows, wheres, and whens of food, even if it doesn’t change their minds.

      Thanks for checking out the post/recipe :)

  2. I’m glad to hear that Food Inc. succeeded in changing your mind about food! I saw it a couple of years ago, and it launched me onto a food activism path stronger than the one I was already on (not to mention, caused me to completely overhaul my food business).

    I love this recipe! We have been working with something similar around the shop— looking for photo inspiration for them now (that’s how I found you– lovely work on this site).

    • I would love to hear some of your tips/stories on your food activism. I am interested in possibly doing something here because I don’t hear a lot of buzz about eco-friendly, organic, and green food products. It hasn’t quite caught on in this town.

      Beautiful blog and F+K site, by the way!

    • Isn’t it great that you don’t need to buy a dehydrator to make the fruit roll-ups?! I learned this recently, too, when I came across some blog posts on fruit leathers/roll-ups, and was extremely elated by this!

      p.s., I was also sort of avoiding Food, Inc., too, for a while because I was afraid of what I was going to learn. lol :) great blog, by the way!

  3. This is a fabulous way to make a snack for on-the-go eating! I love having things like this around and am stockpiling ideas of things like these for when I have kids and need quick and easy snacks for car rides, grocery store trips, etc. And to everyone who has not seen Food Inc, it’ll change your life in a good way. :) We eat better now than we ever did before. It’s wonderful! :)

  4. I love the idea of homemade fruit roll-ups, or fruit leather as I always called them. This recipe sounds relatively easy, I can’t wait to give it a try! Thanks for the great idea!

  5. Pingback: Diigo bookmarks 05/18/2011 « Jill’s Place

  6. I also saw Food Inc. in the last several months and, while I had changed the way I saw and ate food before watching it, it’s a good kick in the pants if I get lazy. I’m always looking for healthier, homemade versions of foods like these fruit roll-ups. Can’t wait to try them!…although I’m sure mine won’t end up so nice, neat, and well-photographed! :)

  7. Pingback: Homemade Fruit Roll Ups « Sweet Little Details

  8. Pingback: Sugarsticks Parties » Blog Archive » Yummy Wednesday: Home made fruit roll-ups!

  9. Pingback: Fruit Rollups | Taste Bud Treasures

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,496 other followers

