Black Mission Fig Preserves with Rosemary and Port

I planted a black mission fig tree two years ago and have been waiting patiently for a plentiful abundance of figs to make jams, fig newtons, and other delicious figgy things.  The first year was a bust because it only produced a handful of figs, of which all were ravished by the birds.  Damn you, birds!  This second year has been promising.  I was so excited when the tree produced enough figs to make fig jam this year!  Unfortunately, it’s not enough to make other figgy things, but heck, I’ll take anything right now.

I searched through what felt like a hundred recipes for fig jam, fig preserves, fig marmalade, and finally came across the one.  I mean, how could you go wrong with rosemary, PORT, and figs all in one bundle of joy??  All I could think about with this jam was it all over grilled pork chops.  Yum.  Now can you imagine this slathered over a grilled thick-cut pork chop?

Black Mission Fig Preserves with Rosemary and Port (adapted from Food and Wine)

5 cups black mission figs, stemmed and cut into 1/2-inch dices
3/4 cup sugar
Zest and juice of 1 large lemon
2/3 cup port
1 6-inch rosemary sprig, minced
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

In a large, nonreactive saucepan, toss the fig pieces with the sugar and let stand, stirring occasionally, for about 15 minutes, until the sugar is mostly dissolved and the figs are juicy.

Add the lemon zest and juice, rosemary, salt, and port and bring to a boil, stirring until the sugar is completely dissolved. Simmer the fig jam over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until the fruit is soft and the liquid runs off the side of a spoon in thick, heavy drops, about 20 minutes.

If processing, pour hot preserves mixture into a hot, sterile 1/2-pint glass canning jars, filling jar to within 1/4-inch from top; wipe rim and seal jar with lid. Put jar in water-bath canner or on rack set in a deep kettle and cover with hot water by 1 to 2 inches. Boil at 180 to 185 degrees F, and process, covered, 10 minutes. Transfer jar to a rack using tongs and let cool completely. Store in a cool, dark place, up to one year.

Makes three 1/2-pint jars.

23 responses

  1. I wonder how this would work with dried figs. Can’t get fresh figs in Michigan but would love to make this…scratch that, EAT this!!

  2. I want that. On me pork chops. Right now. 😉 yum

    Be careful what you wish for when it comes to your little ‘harvest’ – I have three appletrees in my garden that are SO PACKED this year I am already fearing the time they are ripe. Experience has shown that they simply are way more than I could handle. I’ve done cakes, juice, jelly, compote, tarts and everything and there are always plenty left, even after giving loads away. I can only store a few in my basement and you don’t want to know what happens when they start to mold… you don’t.

    Haha, listen to me MOANING over apples. 😉

    Tobias

    • lol, that’s a lot of apple trees! i often wonder what people do with the fruits from their multiple fruit trees! it’s true, you can only make so many different things with a particular fruit, give it away, and then still have plenty of left overs! that’s the problem i’m currently experiencing with my tomato plants… i can’t keep up with how many tomatoes i have and they’re starting to mold. ack!

  3. Shoot, that really is just too bad as I cannot even think of a way to store them properly. 😦 Maybe you could make a huge batch of basic tomato sauce and freeze them in portions?

  4. Pingback: Fig Gelato with Balsamic Drizzle | Yum and Yummer

  5. I made this last night and I was so dissappointed this morning to see that it did not get thick and is still vey liquid. Do you have any suggestion? It does taste wonderful and I hate to throw it out

    • I am so sorry to hear that the jam did not set! You could try heating it until it thickens or you could try reprocessing it with some pectin.

      I hope one of these suggestions works out for you! Please keep me posted.

      Cheers!

  6. Pingback: Cooking with Wine: 5 Sweet Port Recipes to Try - Second Glass

Leave a comment