Baked Lemony Kale Chips… A Guilt-Free Pleasure.

baked kale chips, lemon kale chips, kale, healthy, healthy chips, low calorie, salted kale chips, vegan, roasted kale chips, crispy kale chips

Chips are my one vice in life.  I love chips of all forms… tortilla chips,  potato chips, pita chips, corn chips, banana chips.  It can be fried, baked, or air-popped.  Whatever it is, just gimme!  It’s almost a requirement to have a bag of chips with a side of sandwich.  Yes, you read that correctly.  It’s almost a Pavlovian response to want chips with a sandwich.  In my very honest opinion, sandwiches just don’t taste as good without the crunchy texture from the chips.

My most absolute favorite type of chips are the Flamin’ Hot Limon-Flavored Cheetos.  Mmmmmmm.  Those really are the tastiest.  I had a small bag of these each day at work with my sandwich.  However, an hour or two after consuming the Cheetos, I was parched.  And to remedy this, I would drink a few glasses of water, and then I would balloon up from all the sodium!  Check this, one small snack bag of Flamin Hot Cheetos not only contains 330 calories, but it also has 380 mg of sodium.  I knew this.  I would remind myself of how bloated I was, and that I was no longer going to consume it thereafter.  But alas, I found myself the very next day at the cafeteria, purchasing a small snack bag of Flamin’ Hot Limon-Flavored Cheetos.  Such a vicious, addicting cycle.

When I started my diet, I cut out the Cheetos.  For good.  It was difficult, but I succeeded!  Unfortunately, I soon found myself wanting something crunchy with my sandwiches.  Someone at work showed me the way to barbecue-flavored Pop Chips.  I was hooked immediately.  This was my new addiction.  And they were “healthier” than the Cheetos… 120 calories for a small snack bag of Pop Chips with 250 mg of sodium.  It wasn’t the most ideal for my diet, but it was a great substitute that satiated my chips craving.

Well, I recently made a decision to wean myself from the Pop Chips.  I seem to wean myself from a lot of things, but I digress.  I’ve decided to stop consuming Pop Chips because I just don’t need to spend $1.50 per bag each day at work.  I just need to stop eating chips all together if I want to continue succeeding on my diet.  However, I knew I would fail myself, because I’ll always long for something crunchy with my sandwich or wrap.  Fortunately, I knew what was going to be a guilt-free, healthier and cheaper alternative… baked kale chips!

Baked Kale Chips

1 bunch kale, strip out the center core or stalk, tear kale into small pieces, washed and dried
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon fresh squeezed lemon juice
Sea Salt

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

Whisk together the olive oil, and lemon lemon juice.

Toss in the dry kale and coat them evenly. Arrange the kale in a single layer of the baking tray. Season with sea salt.

Roast the kale for about 12 to 15 minutes, or until they are crispy. Turn the kale once or twice for even crisping.

Calories per 1 cup of baked kale chips: 60

8 responses

    • Give it a try! The lemon and salt flavor just add another depth of flavor to the crispy kale leaves. It has a nutty flavor almost similar to roasted, crispy brussel sprout leaves. Hope you try and like the recipe!

    • It is so worth a try! Everyone turned their nose up at the idea when I did this with the left over kale at our last get together. I didn’t use the lemon but I am thinking it’s going to be a wonderful addition and I really can’t wait to try them again.

      We have a food night celebration once a month so the food was over abundant at this gathering. I made a huge tray and they were all gone but for crumbs by the end of the evening even in the presence of many other dishes!

      • I’ve had similar responses to the kale chips! My friends turn their noses to one side, but once they muster up the courage to try, they’re immediately hooked.

        If you like anything citrus, the lemons really add another depth of flavor to the nutty flavor of the baked kale chips. They remind me of the nutty flavor from the crispy leaves of roasted brussel sprouts. Yum.

        Hope you enjoy!

  1. I’ve never tried kale chips before! honestly say, I’ve never seen kale before…hehe…I will check them out in the market and will soon be making these.(coz I love chips! yay)

Leave a comment